Computing and Library Services - delivering an inspiring information environment

Strata Sequence: From Musical Rocks to Palaeo-Soundscapes

Mackay, Robert (2015) Strata Sequence: From Musical Rocks to Palaeo-Soundscapes. Divergence Press, 4 (1). ISSN 20523467

Metadata only available from this repository.


Strata Sequence is a body of work comprising a range of creative outputs, including compositions and installations. The work represents a series of collaborations with museums and festivals related by the theme of geology. The first created work, Living Waves, is a multi-channel composition interweaving field recordings from the Lake District with readings from the writings of John Ruskin alongside recordings of a specially created lithophone (the Brantwood Musical Stones) played by Dame Evelyn Glennie. An interactive audio-visual installation, Strata, was subsequently created utilizing the Xbox Kinect sensor with custom software created in MAX. This allows participants to play a virtual version of the Brantwood Musical Stones via hand movements in front of a video screen, and is designed for touring. An on-line geological soundmap of Cumbria is also being created to represent sounds above and below the ground. The final part of the sequence is the recreation of a Jurassic soundscape entitled Re-imagining the Jurassic. This was created for a 16 month exhibition at Scarborough’s Rotunda Museum called Scarborough’s Lost Dinosaurs.

Item Type: Article
Subjects: M Music and Books on Music > M Music
M Music and Books on Music > MT Musical instruction and study
Schools: School of Music, Humanities and Media > CeReNeM
Depositing User: Megan Taylor
Date Deposited: 07 Aug 2017 11:23
Last Modified: 27 Mar 2018 14:00


Downloads per month over past year

Repository Staff Only: item control page

View Item View Item

University of Huddersfield, Queensgate, Huddersfield, HD1 3DH Copyright and Disclaimer All rights reserved ©