Computing and Library Services - delivering an inspiring information environment

six symmetries for large ensemble (17 players)

Harrison, Bryn (2005) six symmetries for large ensemble (17 players). [Composition]
Creators:Harrison, Bryn

six symmetries, for large ensemble (17 players), has received two international performances, including by Klangforum Wien in
Vienna; and has been broadcast on Austrian Radio.

‘Interpretation and performance in Bryn Harrison’s être-temps’, co-authored with Professors Nicholas Cook and Eric Clarke and
performer Philip Thomas, Musicae Scientiae, vol.9, 2005, pp.31–74; ISSN 1029-8649.

The piece draws on extensive research into the work of the British painter Bridget Riley and in particular her curve paintings of
the mid-1970s. This research is based on finding ways of translating certain constructs from a kinetic visual art into music, and
works on the principle that, just as music (an essentially temporal art) is able to convey stasis through movement so, conversely,
visual art, being essentially a static medium, is able to convey movement on a motionless picture-plane. The piece considers
the ways in which certain processes adopted by Riley might be applied musically. The rhythmic contours of the piece are
derived directly from a series of geometric curves based on these paintings by tracing the constellation of points from specific
paintings into curvilinear grids, resulting in a series of quietly oscillating musical canons. The research considered the ways in
which adopting the constructs of a visual medium can have a direct bearing upon the approach to musical notation and how, in
turn, this can effect the consequent interpretation of the piece. The exploration of deriving spatial designs from the rhythmic
placement of points and the consequent effects upon musical interpretation is further outlined in the portfolio article. As in low
time patterns (output 1), the research questions addressed in six symmetries reflect a continuing interest into musical time (as
outlined in the composer’s PhD thesis), with the emphasis on structures that can appear inwardly static or outwardly mobile.

Item Type:Composition
Additional Information:UoA 67 (Music) Commission given as the award of the 2004 IMPULS International Composers’ Competition, Graz, Austria; written for and premiered by Klangforum Wien, conducted by Johannes Kalizke, Graz, Austria, February 2005, during the IMPULS Composers’ Residency. Score published as part of ‘Contemporary Voices’, available at bmic.
Schools:School of Music, Humanities and Media
School of Music, Humanities and Media > CeReNeM
Related URLs:
ID Code:2340
Deposited By: Graham Stone
Deposited On:21 Oct 2008 08:24
Last Modified:28 Aug 2021 10:42
Repository Staff Only: item control page


Downloads per month over past year

University of Huddersfield, Queensgate, Huddersfield, HD1 3DH Copyright and Disclaimer All rights reserved ©